Global Travel Oversight Committee (GTOC)

The Global Travel Oversight Committee (GTOC) is charged with reviewing Virginia Tech's trips abroad to locations with heightened levels of security and/or medical concerns. The GTOC is chaired by Theresa Johansson, director of the Global Education Office (GEO) and consists of the following: 

  • Ozzie Abaye - Professor, Crop and Soil Environmental Science
  • David Brady - Director, Office of Export Control & Secure Research Compliance (OECSR)
  • Paul Winistorfer, Dean, College of Natural Resources & Environment
  • David Clubb, Associate Dean of Students & Director, Cranwell International Center
  • Ellen Douglas - Director, Risk Management
  • Kevin Foust - Chief of Police & Director of Security
  • Kay Heidbreder - University Counsel
  • Rachel Holloway - Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
  • Lance Matheson - Associate Professor, Business Information Technology
  • Trudy Harrington Becker, Senior Instructor and Associate Chair, History
  • Michael Mulhare - Director, Office of Emergency Management (OEM)
  • Randy Penson - Assistant Director, Global Safety & Risk Management
  • Eliza Wethey - Associate Director, Global Engagement


University Council on International Affairs (UCIA)

The University Council on International Affairs is composed of representatives from each of Virginia Tech's colleges, as well as the directors of university international centers abroad, and representatives of units within the university that have responsibility for managing international matters for students, staff, faculty, and other groups affiliated with the university. The Council meets monthly, and is the direct voice of its constituencies to the Commission on Outreach and International Affairs.

International Education Policy Commission (IEPC)

The International Education Policy Commission (IEPC) is a UCIA sub-committee charged to vet issues identified by the UCIA and make recommendations regarding these issues.